关于我们

今天,有越来越少的长期阿拉伯马育种计划, 但好友索尔兹伯里的国会农场阿拉伯人在威斯敏斯特, 马里兰, 是一个继续蓬勃发展. “当我离开大学搬回马里兰, 我遇到了拉里和雪利酒乌鸦, 谁曾一匹阿拉伯种马和其他一些阿拉伯人,”巴迪说:. “现在,我正在与学校进行, 我想重新进入马. 他们把我与吉姆·哈德森是谁在触摸乔治敦, 特拉华. 我和妻子买了ASA我故弄玄虚 (高神秘的X风沙达山) 从他身上. 那是在 1996. 我们孕育她拉里和雪利酒的种马VA纳迪姆 (帝国Imdal x高关头Ansata维多利亚) 并有我们的第一个马驹在1997年”

像许多人一样, 巴迪决定,因为他有一个马,他应该购买种马. 是什么让这个农场的故事,与众不同的是,他选择了种马形成了他的育种计划的基础. 十七年后回旋镖NA (Padrons琪X宾特Forteyna), 在二十岁, 还是父系漂亮的露背质量马驹谁继续有成功的职业生涯表现. “我在离婚后 2000, 我决定做的比显示多的育种. 我真正的激情是滋生. 而对于公马较晚的检索使我回旋镖. 我不能和他在一起快乐. 他二十岁今年,”巴迪说:. “当我购买的回旋镖 2000 作为一个晚二十岁, 他在斯科茨代尔和八强里已经十佳露背的七叶树, 以及储备冠军在两个地区性演出. 格雷格Gallun显示了他作为一个三十岁的十大在 2001 我们. 国家未来性柯尔特类. 这真的是这种疯狂开始的地方。”

回旋镖NA是由迈克·尼科尔斯育成, 谁买了他的大坝上了一趟加州. “当迈克·尼科尔斯决定重新进入阿拉伯马养殖业务 1995, 他和我就出去一趟加州,”迈克的长期教练玛丽说:特罗布里奇. “这是O.J期间. 辛普森审判. 他的妻子黛安·索耶在外面采访O.J. 和律师. 我们去了几个农场,包括希拉瓦里安和Cory索尔陶的. 之前我们离开洛杉矶, 黛安对我说:, “请不要让他再买了马。”当然我没有过任何控制! 麦克看到宾特Forteyna在科里的,并相当采取了她. 他转身对我说:, “我只是让她。”在希拉的建议, 迈克·宾特广泛Forteyna 2帕德龙琪. 得到的小马驹是回旋镖NA“。

知道他需要的母马,以补充他的新马, 巴迪买,他认为将是完美的一马, 自由名人堂 (名人堂VF永远X克里斯塔尔). 今天“她还活着,是我的畜群的基础母马,”巴迪说:.

“自由穰CFA (回旋镖NA X自由名人堂), 谁是戴尔·布朗, 是交叉的结果. 而我自己的养殖满妹, 自由佳丽CFA, 谁是区域性露背冠军. 她的儿子革命CFA (由* Baahir萨尔瓦多马尔万) 是四岁和培训与戴尔,他将在今年西部乐趣初中马显示. 当我孕育革命, 没想到得到一个西方马, 但是这就是我. 他是太棒了。”

一,设置除了成功的阿拉伯马育种的特点是他们客观地评估自己的股票的能力. “我对我的马逼真,”巴迪说:. “我得想想他们会擅长的事,并在那里施展才华的谎言. 他们必须适应市场的地方. 这就是我在想,当我第一次看一个小马驹. 如果你可以看看你的动物客观, 你可以得到的地方。”国会农场阿拉伯马必须露背美丽与运动能力,这将导致性能生涯. “我试图产生漂亮的马谁可以成功地露背,然后在西部脱颖而出的快感,”继续好友. “我很高兴西部的粉丝. 他们需要相当大的马谁也有思想和运动性能 - 尤其是西方的”

“我认识的好友很长一段时间, 已经显示出对他多年,”特德·卡森说:. “几年前,他来找我,说他想我介绍国家的竞争者. 我们已经共同成功, 获奖前几十个,并总是来接近得到一个更大的奖, 但我们的第一个全国冠军,去年带着镇饰品CFA (回旋镖NA X镇城之宝), 谁赢得了全国冠军半阿拉伯未来性雌. 我已经告诉他,我们已经足够接近的时间,有一天很快我们就渡过了难关. 他一直养马,这做了很长一段时间, 所以这是非常适合他拿到第一个全国冠军. 你必须幸福的人谁一直在那里,只要挂我的好友. 和好友孕育了一切,我已经证明了他的马“。将伙伴, “我有许多顶数万, 但是这是我的第一个全国冠军. 我非常兴奋的是双赢. 而她的妹妹去第三在国民周岁雌类“。

在与他的信念,保持自己孕育马还必须有表现的事业, 好友与西方教练戴尔·布朗成功关联. “我在马里兰州和有靠近我,不要西方许多培训师,”巴迪说:. “对于一个几年我四处打听关于西部培训师. 我只听到关于戴尔的好东西. 我走近他一眼一年的国民,因为我知道自由穰CFA, 谁是二十岁的时候, 将是一个很好的西方马. 我觉得他的心灵吧, 在运动能力和漂亮的脸蛋. 所以, 中美经过. 国民当年, 我送他到戴尔在格鲁吉亚的地方,打破“。

戴尔援引好友为他曾经有生意最好的老板之一. “巴迪从来没有到我的农场, 我从来没有去过他的地方,”戴尔说:. “我看到他在表演过一段时间. 他给我发了他的马图片和视频, 我们决定什么,他都会根据发送. 我赞赏的是,他总是关心马的寿命, 所以他让我把我的时间. 他喜欢我不把他们太硬或走得太快. 他希望他们去按照自己的节奏。”巴迪增加, “我尽量保持一两匹马与戴尔所有的时间. 有些人那里只是为了打破和销售, 和一些最终会由下鞍戴尔显示“。

巴迪在育种和显示成功是一个清晰的愿景和战略的反思. “老弟已经想通了,对他的作品的系统,”泰德说:. “他的马匹由菲利普·沃尔夫表示和谁就会在去国民的人来找我. 当他们与他们的职业生涯露背做他送他们戴尔·布朗。”

巴迪滋生那种马是谁建做的工作 - 并且以这种方式, 他们使戴尔的工作更轻松. “我有两个回旋镖get和grandget,”戴尔说:. “四十岁我有, 革命CFA, 是* Baahir萨尔瓦多马尔万和出回旋镖NA女儿. 他们都被很好, 软搬运工. 我喜欢他们强烈建成重去骨和好放在一起. 革命是很帅气, 大下巴, 一个“逃学”的脖子和一个伟大的后腿. 他是建立轮他的跗关节下他订远远落后. 帮助我比什么都重要的事情是低设定飞节. 当后炮长, 它迫使马走下坡路. 回旋镖精心打造的主因,反映在他的后代. 他们都将能够做一些事情。”

巴迪的营销策略很简单. 而且它已经为他工作. “无论, 总是有一个良好的坚实表现马市场,”巴迪说:. “我不认为有很多人找一匹马,只能做今天露背. 市场已经转向更倾向于马,人们可以乘坐,并有乐趣. 我得到了良好稳固的骑马调用所有的时间. 肯定是有质量马市场. 这比以前要卖给他们更难,你必须在它的工作. 关键是要具有良好的坚实的股票,人们希望. 你必须把钱投入得到他们的培训,使他们将出售. 我知道,如果我专注于生产更优质的马, 我将有一个市场,他们. 我力争每年提高我的质量. 我有七个小马驹在未来 2018, 这将是我最大的马驹有史以来作物. 我通常有一年三到四个马驹, 但去年每母马我培育出了小马驹. 自由佳丽

CFA是马驹到陈松伶NA和维托里奥·TO. Pryme小姐Tyme的CFA将具有图莎蒂和Exxalt马驹. 我的女儿Stival将有一个大Commandd马驹. 将有两个回旋镖马驹: 一个完整的同级小姐Pryme百里香CFA,另一出黑直埃及马的“。

尽管Buddy是一个成功的会计业务注册会计师, 他是一个非常实用的所有者. “我每天早上喂 4:00 上午. 之前我去上班. 我有谁在白天照顾马匹的人. 他们带来了他们,并做了下午各投喂. 当我回到家, 我走走,做大家一个晚上检查. 我做的所有foaling. 当启动下月, 我会出在谷仓里,直到谁知道与母马当. 因为我是一名会计, 我得到零睡在二月和三月 - foaling和报税季节重叠. 我很幸运,我的妈妈住在隔壁,她帮助我与foaling. 我们轮流所以我们至少可以得到一个小盹“。

没有人爱自己的马比好友更. “我在回来的退役马一五英亩的土地,“ 他说. “两个名人堂VF女儿和一个Padrons琪女儿住在那里. 他们是我生命中的爱. 我的基础母马自由名人堂是26年岁. 她就像她的两位. 它给了我很大的满足感知道她有过这么长的健康生活. 她产生了一些漂亮的小马驹“。

养殖大阿拉伯马是好友索尔兹伯里的激情. “我喜欢看到孩子长大了,”巴迪说:. “有趣的部分对我来说是foaling,提高他们看他们去自己的首秀。”二十多年来,, 他并没有在他的追求,制作出漂亮动摇, 马竞技. “我尊重好友坚持自己的想法,”泰德说:. “他孕育出一点点, 但大多是用自己的种马. 我给他的信用对具有育种计划,而不仅仅是跟随最新时尚。”

本文发表于 阿拉伯马世界 | 2018
查看全文 这里.

About Us

Today there are fewer and fewer long-term Arabian horse breeding programs, but Buddy Salisbury’s Congressional Farm Arabians in Westminster, Maryland, is one that continues to thrive. “When I got out of college and moved back to Maryland, I met Larry and Sherry Crow, who had an Arabian stallion and a few other Arabians,” says Buddy. “Now that I was done with school, I wanted to get back into horses. They put me in touch with Jim Hudson who is in Georgetown, Delaware. My wife and I bought ASA Mystify Me (High Mystic x Aeolian Darshan) from him. That was in 1996. We bred her to Larry and Sherry’s stallion VA Nadeem (Imperial Imdal x H Ansata Victoria) and had our first foal in 1997.”

Like many people, Buddy decided that since he had a mare he should purchase a stallion. What makes this farm’s story unique is that the stallion he chose formed the foundation of his breeding program. Seventeen years later Boomerang NA (Padrons Psyche x Bint Forteyna), at twenty years of age, is still siring beautiful halter-quality foals who go on to have successful performance careers. “After my divorce in 2000, I decided to do more breeding than showing. My true passion is the breeding. And the subsequent search for a stallion led me to Boomerang. I couldn’t be happier with him. He is twenty this year,” says Buddy. “When I purchased Boomerang in 2000 as a late two-year-old, he had already been Top Ten in halter at Scottsdale and Top Eight at the Buckeye, as well as Reserve Champion at two regional shows. Greg Gallun showed him as a three-year-old to a Top Ten in the 2001 U.S. National Futurity Colt class. That’s really where this craziness started.”

Boomerang NA was bred by Mike Nichols, who bought his dam on a trip to California. “When Mike Nichols decided to get back into the Arabian horse breeding business in 1995, he and I took a trip out to California,” says Mike’s longtime trainer Mary Trowbridge. “It was during the O.J. Simpson trial. His wife Diane Sawyer was out there interviewing O.J. and the lawyers. We went to several farms including Sheila Varian’s and Cory Soltau’s. Before we left Los Angeles, Diane said to me, ‘Please don’t let him buy anymore horses.’ Of course I didn’t have any control over that! Mike saw Bint Forteyna at Cory’s and was quite taken by her. He turned to me and said, ‘I just have to have her.’ At Sheila’s suggestion, Mike bred Bint Forteyna to Padrons Psyche. The resulting foal was Boomerang NA.”

Knowing that he needed mares that would complement his new stallion, Buddy bought a mare he thought would be perfect, Freedom Fame (Fame VF x Forever Krystal). “She is still alive today and is the  foundation mare of my herd,” says Buddy.

“Freedom Rang CFA (Boomerang NA x Freedom Fame), who is with Dale Brown, is the result of that cross. And I am breeding his full sister, Liberty Belle CFA, who is a regional halter champion. Her son Revolution CFA (by *Baahir El Marwan) is four years old and in training with Dale he’ll be shown this year in western pleasure junior horse. When I bred Revolution, I didn’t expect to get a western horse, but that’s what I got. And he is fantastic.”

One of the characteristics that sets apart successful Arabian horse breeders is their ability to objectively evaluate their stock. “I am realistic about my horses,” says Buddy. “I have to think about what they will be good at and where their talent lies. They have to fit into the market somewhere. That’s what I’m thinking when I first look at a foal. If you can look at your animals objectively, you can get somewhere.” Congressional Farm Arabian horses must be halter beautiful with athletic ability that will lead to a performance career. “I’m trying to produce pretty horses who can be successful in halter and then excel in western pleasure,” continues Buddy. “I’m a fan of western pleasure. They need to be big pretty horses who also have the mind and movement for performance — especially western.”

“I’ve known Buddy for a long time, having shown against him for many years,” says Ted Carson. “Several years ago he came to me and said that he would like me to present National contenders. We’ve been successful together, winning Top Tens and always coming close to getting a bigger prize, but our first National Championship came last year with Town Trinket CFA (Boomerang NA x Town Treasure), who won National Champion Half-Arabian Futurity Filly. I had been telling him that we had been close enough times that one day soon we would get over the hump. He’s been breeding horses and doing this a long time, so it was great for him to get that first National Championship. You have to be happy for  anyone who has hung in there as long as Buddy. And Buddy has bred all the horses that I have shown for him.” Adds Buddy, “I have a number of Top Tens, but that is my first National Champion. I was pretty excited about that win. And her sister went third in the Yearling Filly class at Nationals.”

In keeping with his belief that the horses he breeds must also have performance careers, Buddy has a successful association with western trainer Dale Brown. “I’m in Maryland and there aren’t many western trainers near me,” Buddy says. “For a couple years I asked around about western trainers. I heard nothing but good things about Dale. I approached him one year at Nationals because I knew that Freedom Rang CFA, who was a two-year-old at the time, was going to be a good western horse. I felt he had the mind for it, the athleticism and the pretty face. So, after U.S. Nationals that year, I sent him down to Dale’s place in Georgia to break.”

Dale cites Buddy as one of the best owners he’s ever done business with. “Buddy has never been to my farm, and I have never been to his place,” says Dale. “I see him at a show once in a while. He sends me pictures and videos of his horses, and we decide what he will send based on that. I appreciate the fact that he is always concerned with the horse’s longevity, so he lets me take my time. He prefers that I not push them too hard or go too fast. He wants them to go at their own pace.” Buddy adds, “I try to keep a horse or two with Dale all the time. Some are there just to break and sell, and some will eventually be shown under saddle by Dale.”

Buddy’s success in breeding and showing is a reflection of a clear vision and strategy. “Buddy has figured out a system that works for him,” says Ted. “His horses are shown by Phillip Wolfe and then the ones who will go on to Nationals come to me. When they are done with their halter careers he sends them to Dale Brown.”

Buddy breeds the kind of horse who is built to do the job — and in that way, they make Dale’s job easier. “I’ve had both Boomerang get and grandget,” says Dale. “The four-year-old I have, Revolution CFA, is by *Baahir El Marwan and out of a Boomerang NA daughter. They have all been good, soft movers. I like that they are strongly built and heavy-boned and well put together. Revolution is very handsome, with big jowls, a ‘hooky’ neck and a great hindquarter. He is built round behind with his hocks set well under him. The thing that helps me more than anything is low set hocks. When the hind cannons are long, it forces horses to go downhill. Boomerang is well built behind and that is reflected in his offspring. They all are going to be able to do something.”

Buddy’s marketing strategy is simple. And it has worked for him. “No matter what, there is always a market for a good solid performance horse,” says Buddy. “I don’t think there are as many people looking for a horse that can only do halter today. The market has shifted more toward horses that people can ride and have fun with. I get calls for good solid riding horses all the time. There is definitely a market for  quality horses. It’s harder than it used to be to sell them and you have to work at it. It is key to have good solid stock that people want. You must put money into getting them trained so that they will sell. I know that if I concentrate on producing better quality horses, I’m going to have a market for them. And I strive to improve my quality every year. I have seven foals coming in 2018, which will be my largest foal crop ever. I usually have three to four foals a year, but last year every mare I bred got in foal. Liberty Belle

CFA is in foal to Ever After NA and Vitorio TO. Miss Pryme Tyme CFA will be having foals by Trussardi and Exxalt. My Stival daughter will be having a Grand Commandd foal. There will be two Boomerang foals: one a full sibling to Miss Pryme Thyme CFA and the other out of a black straight Egyptian mare.”

Even though Buddy is a CPA with a successful accounting business, he is a very hands-on owner. “I feed every morning at 4:00 a.m. before I go to work. I have people who take care of the horses during the day. They bring them in and do the afternoon feeding. When I get home, I walk around and do a night check on everybody. And I do all the foaling. When that starts next month, I will be out in the barn until who knows when with the mares. Because I am an accountant, I get zero sleep in February and March — foaling and tax season overlap. I’m lucky that my mom lives next door and she helps me with the foaling. We take turns so we at least get a little nap.”

And no one loves their mares more than Buddy. “I have a five-acre field in the back for the retired mares,” he says. “Two Fame VF daughters and a Padrons Psyche daughter live there. They are the loves of my life. My foundation mare Freedom Fame is twenty-six years old. She acts like she’s two. It gives me a lot of satisfaction knowing that she has had such a long healthy life. And she has produced some beautiful foals.”

Breeding great Arabian horses is Buddy Salisbury’s passion. “I love to see the babies grow up,” says Buddy. “The fun part for me is the foaling and raising them to see them go to their first show.” For over twenty years, he has not wavered in his quest to produce beautiful, athletic horses. “I respect that Buddy sticks to his own vision,” says Ted. “He breeds out a little bit, but mostly uses his own stallion. I give him credit for having a breeding program and not just following the latest fad.”

Article published in The Arabian Horse World | 2018
View full article here.